My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

REV. WILLIAM B. OWEN was born in the “Old Dominion” June 29, 1825, and is a son of Thomas and Sallie (Stewart) Owen, who were born in the same State. They came to Rutherford County, Tenn., in 1840, and followed the lives of farmers. The father was also a minister of the Baptist Church. He died November 20, 1859, and the mother in 1835. William B. Owen was reared on the farm with his father, and secured a good common school education. He attended the Stone River Academy, and at the age of twenty-two began working for himself on his father’s farm. In 1850 he purchased the place where he now lives, and March 8, 1860, he wedded Betty M. Nance, a native of the State and daughter of Elder Josiah C. Nance, a well-known farmer and minister of Davidson County. To them were born these children, all of whom are dead: Josiah W., died April 15, 1883, and Eugenia S., died April 14, 1883. Mr. Owen is classed among the successful farmers of the county in which he resides, and is a man strictly honest and fair in his business transactions.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.