My Genealogy Hound

Below is a family biography included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published by Goodspeed Publishing Company in 1887.  These biographies are valuable for genealogy research in discovering missing ancestors or filling in the details of a family tree. Family biographies often include far more information than can be found in a census record or obituary.  Details will vary with each biography but will often include the date and place of birth, parent names including mothers' maiden name, name of wife including maiden name, her parents' names, name of children (including spouses if married), former places of residence, occupation details, military service, church and social organization affiliations, and more.  There are often ancestry details included that cannot be found in any other type of genealogical record.

* * * *

NATHANIEL OWEN, an old and prominent farmer of Rutherford County, Tenn., was born in Virginia October 9, 1820, and is a son of Thomas and Sallie (Stewart) Owen, who were also born in the State of Virginia. Nathaniel Owen, the subject of this memoir, remained and assisted his parents on the farm until he was twenty years of age, securing but a limited education. He then began tilling the soil on his own account, and has since been steadily engaged at that work, and has met with the success that has always attends industry, economy and fair dealing. December 23, 1857, he was united in marriage to Miss Mary E. McNeil, of Rutherford County. They have six children: Mary A. (wife of John Pitts), Thomas E., Martha L., John W., Lillie V. and Sally C., all of whom are living. Mr. Owen is independent in his political views, and he and family are leading members of the Baptist Church.

* * * *

This family biography is one of the numerous biographies included in The History of Rutherford County, Tennessee published in 1887 by Goodspeed.  The History of Rutherford County was included within The History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Bedford & Marshall Counties of Tennessee. For the complete description, click here: History of Maury, Williamson, Rutherford, Wilson, Beford and Marshall Counties of Tennessee

View additional Rutherford County, Tennessee family biographies here

View a historic 1888 map of Rutherford County, Tennessee

View family biographies for other counties and states here

Use the links at the top right of this page to search or browse thousands of other family biographies.